Moving Forward EP

Moving Forward EP Artwork

Artist: Various
Cat.No: SR12 002
Format: 12" & Digital

01. Ancient Astronauts - Green Tea Funk
02. Deela - Blackness Of The Sun
03. Deela - Blackness Of The Sun (Greg Long Remix)
04. Protassov - Electric Pocket
05. Protassov & Alexander - Fingertips

  Vinyl Edition Button Bandcamp Button iTunes Button Amazon Button Beatport Button Junodownload Button


After the success of last year's label compilation Fantastic Freeriding, the German label Switchstance Recordings now presents its second release, the title of which once again is its creed: The Moving Forward EP.


On the Moving Forward EP, which comes out in April, the inhouse producers of the label show their state of the art, constantly moving forward with club sounds between Instrumental HipHop, Afro-Funk, NuBeats and much more. It's a "Return to Blackspin" for the Ancient Astronauts (alias Deela producer Ingo Möll and Switchstance label head Tom Strauch) and the first track on the Moving Forward EP: A strong marching dope beat track, which already has come to be the opener not only of the Switchstance DJ Collective's sets.


With the athmospherical afro club sound on "Blackness of the Sun", Deela catch on where their much licensed success "African Chant" left: Exciting, jazz-inspired music by a four-headed band being at home as much on stage as in their own Uni4 Studio. The remix of "Blackness of the Sun" stems from the American Greg Long, for whose Citrona Recordings label Switchstance have already delivered a remix. Long moves the track towards its kicking off-beats, pulsating percussions und spherical sounds, with an extra eye to the dancefloor.


"Electric Pocket" is Protassov at his best: The passionate twiddler between Dub, HipHop and Psychedelia once more reaches deep into the electronic pocket of his Mechano Tonatelier. The result is a funkster that stands well beside its predecessor, the much licensed mini hit "A Bird's Party". Protassov & Alexander are heard for the first time on the Moving Forward EP. Alexander here is the moniker of Switchstance main man Tom Strauch. Together the two deliver a chilled piece of beat poetry, which fades out the Moving Forward EP just fine.