Kabanjak meets Protassov - Grow

Kabanjak meets Protassov - Grow Artwork

Artist: Kabanjak meets Protassov
Cat.No: SRCD 003 / SRLP 003
Format: CD, 2LP & Digital

01. Kabanjak - Blues Encore
02. Protassov - Cruise Control (feat. The Jungle Brothers)
03. Kabanjak - Too Slick To Grind
04. Protassov - Let's Make Friends
05. Kabanjak - Chase The Morb
06. Protassov - More Days Please
07. Kabanjak - These Streets We Walk
08. Protassov - Walking Round The Block
09. Kabanjak - Clap Your Hands
10. Protassov - Cucumber Lounge
11. Kabanjak - To The Bone
12. Protassov - Sad Day
13. Kabanjak - Brain In Dub (feat. The Jungle Brothers)
14. Protassov - Flirtline

  CD Edition Button Bandcamp Button iTunes Button Amazon Button Beatport Button Junodownload Button


"All people want to grow always", as German jazzer/comedian Helge Schneider once said in his unique mumble. And he's right. Take Kabanjak and Protassov, Switchstance Recordings' main producers, who have grown strong during the last years with the label. Numerous tracks on the two successful label compilations "Fantastic Freeriding" have been licensed worldwide for renowned compilations (Martini Mood 2, Music For Modern Living a.o.) and many of the big boardsports videos (411, MethodMag a.o.). They have also gained respect as remixers for labels such as Stereo Deluxe, Fort Knox, Bastard Jazz, Temposphere or Six Degrees. Now, on the album "Grow", they appear together for the first time.


With its "meets"-concept, "Grow" stands in the tradition of big Dub and Reggae Soundclash albums of the seventies and eighties. Alternately, track by track, Kabanjak and Protassov introduce the listener to the many facets of their work - while creating a diverse and wholesome big picture: Downbeat, Dub and HipHop alongside Funk rollers and NuJazz up to modern Breaks define the spectrum of the sounds of Kabanjak and Protassov on this, their first "own" Album.


Switchstance is especially proud to present the first long-awaited collabo tunes with the Jungle Brothers on "Grow". The two legendary US rappers Afrika Baby Bam and Mike G have quickly become fans of the Sounds of Switchstance and work in the label's studios in Moers and Essen regularly by now. On "Grow", "Cruise Control" with Protassov and the Kabanjak production "Brain In Dub" - a dubby remake of their classic "Brain" - show the good ol' JBeez are in top shape.


"Grow", like all Switchstance releases, comes in various formats: Besides the Digipak CD album - with an exclusive artwork by American abstract cartoon artist LEBO - and the double LP with 14 tracks, "Grow" also comes in the form of two vinyl EPs for which Kabanjak and Protassov have remixed a track by each other. Also, each EP contains tracks from the album as well as remixes from Painé (Temposphere Rec.) and Monophonic (Pulver Rec.).