Joined Forces EP

Joined Forces EP Artwork

Artist: Various
Cat.No: SR12 004
Format: 12" & Digital

01. Protassov meets Thury Tonarm - The Softmachine
02. Ancient Astronauts - Afrodizzyact
03. Kabanjak - Joined Forces
04. Ancient Astronauts - Green Tea Funk (DJ Ole Remix)
05. Deela - African Chant (Pt. II)
06. Protassov - Witchcraft
  Vinyl Edition Button Bandcamp Button iTunes Button Amazon Button Beatport Button Junodownload Button


Before the release of the second vinyl EP of their Fantastic Freeriding 2 label compilation, Switchstance Recordings proudly present the Joined Forces EP - a special DJ treat, showcasing the skills and talent of the label artists and even more.


A1: Opener of the EP is The Softmachine, which came into being while Switchstance beatmaster Protassov hung out with Thury Tonarm, one of the label's DJ crew - and it's a soft machine indeed the two created. A fluffy daydream of a tune!


A2: Ancient Astronauts here turn headz with an Afrodizzyact that bangs the drums and has crazy distorted sax to it. Guaranteed to get you hot-blooded!


A3: The EP's title track, Joined Forces, is a heavy head-nodder by Kabanjak, bringing strong beats, rough bass, atmospherical strings, flutes and a faraway voice into a moody harmony which in its course evolves into an urban symphony.


B1: An early Switchstance success here gets a round-up from a Manchester Sub Tub Player: It's the DJ Ole Remix of Green Tea Funk by Ancient Astronauts, stripping down the original tune and enriching it with scratches and effects inna B-boy stance.


B2: Deela take off where they left - with the nu-jazzy grooves of African Chant Pt. 2. A melange of latin and African elements over a fast but easy backbeat and gentle percussion makes this one for the road as well as for the clubs.


B3: We knew it all the time: Protassov is a magician. Proof comes with the last track of the EP, called Witchcraft. A slow burner which tricks us with spacious guitar work and chopped beats.